Just a note

(Adam)  Not much happening our way.  That is a good thing.  We will stay at Speke Resort until we leave Africa.  We had a good night of sleep last night with much appreciated peace and quiet.  We have had an opportunity over the last few days to visit with the directors of the adoption agency that we have been using.   The  directors of Lifeline Children’s Services in Birmingham, AL have been here since Thursday.  It has been great having them here for encouragement and support.

We found out today that we cannot transfer our airline tickets to another airline.  Unfortunately, we had to forfeit the tickets that we had paid for previously.  I did book 6 one way tickets through another airline for Wednesday at 10PM.  We will arrive in New Orleans at 5:30PM on Thursday.  

Our meeting with the Embassy is scheduled for Tuesday 8AM.  Please pray that the Visas will be granted and processed in time for our flight.  If not, Landry, Jebb, and I will fly home leaving Jill, J, and S to follow when possible.  While we don’t want this to happen, we trust God in His sovereignty.

Over these last two days, we have received many emails and even a phone call from missionaries and pastors that we have never met.  These people are either in Uganda or have significant contacts and friends in Africa.  Thank you to those of you whom I am speaking of.  We appreciate your interest and prayers.  It is an honor to be the recipient of your time, prayers, and concern.  In addition, to those back in the states who have encouraged us, THANK YOU.

Regarding the robbery, we are dealing with it.  We did lose all of our pictures from the beginning of the adoption to yesterday.  The thieves took the camera as well as the computer on which they were stored.  I had put the pictures of J and S family on a CD in order to make copies.  We had taken these photos the day of our visit to the village and had intended to give copies to the family.  Thankfully, we do have these for J and S.

Keep praying.

9 Responses

  1. Hey Jill! I finally got tuned into your website and am enjoying every word. We are praying for your family. PLEASE let us know if there is anything we can do on this end. By the way, the painting for Jonathan was perfect! He really liked it. Thanks again for arranging that. Can’t wait to have all of you back in Hattiesburg. Love, Leighanne Karnes

  2. My heart is full to overflowing. We will pray boldly for answered prayers for tuesday. Praying we see all 6 of you thursday at 5:30 PM. God has already used this adoption is such mighty ways it is amazing to experience, and I don’t even know a tenth of the ways. Thank all of you that are praying for our family. We appreciate it so much. It is such a blessing. May God grant each of you a special blessing for your concern and prayers. Gods will be done. Love Mom

  3. Hi Adam and Jill-
    I found my way to your blog through Gwen Lewis, an acquaintance of mine through our local MOPS. My husband and I are in the process of bringing home a 17 month old boy from Ethiopia, and last month we had the amazing blessing of hosting a Watoto choir at our church for two days and spending a day off with them- wow. It has been a blessing to read through your blog the last few weeks and a privilege to partner with you in prayer. Your hearts for J & S, as well as your biological children, your hearts for God and your unwavering faith despite ridiculously difficult circumstances are an inspiration and speak volumes of the supremacy of Christ in your lives. I will continue to pray that all 6 of you will be able to return home together this week, and look forward to reading more about what our Mighty God is doing in your midst. Many blessings.

  4. We are thankful you are all safe and will be in prayer you get the approvals you need. Praying that you all will return on Wed. together.

  5. Wow. I’ve had a lot of catch-up reading to do and it sounds like it has been quite an adventure. Thankfully, your Shepherd has been with you all the way. Praying for Tuesday,
    Sarah and Mike

  6. I cannot tell you how much you are in my heart and prayers night and day…”Greater is He that is in us than he that is in the world…” I am praying for you…God is getting so much glory from this… Because He Lives, Loves, and Forgives, Donna George
    I am convinced our Lord is going to multiply back to you the costs of all these material things the Enemy thinks he has taken from you…God not only “owns” the airlines, He owns the skies…Remeber what Jim Elliott said, “he is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose…” I am already rejoicing that Stuart and Juliet are already basking in the love of the Father through you…and will know Him soon of their own choosing! Glory to the Lord!

  7. Jill,
    This is especially for you…I think you deserve a huge Smoothie King when you get back! I have heard Smoothie King calling your name for weeks!

  8. 1 Be merciful to me, O God, for man would swallow me up;
    Fighting all day he oppresses me.
    2 My enemies would hound me all day,
    For there are many who fight against me, O Most High.
    3 Whenever I am afraid,
    I will trust in You.
    4 In God I will praise His word,
    In God I have put my trust;
    I will not fear.
    What can flesh do to me?
    5 All day they twist my words;
    All their thoughts are against me for evil.
    6 They gather together,
    They hide, they mark my steps, (they steal my computer!)
    When they lie in wait for my life (and my camera).
    7 Shall they escape by iniquity?
    In anger cast down the peoples, O God!
    8 You number my wanderings;
    Put my tears into Your bottle;
    Are they not in Your book?
    9 When I cry out to You (like a woman in labor),
    Then my enemies will turn back (& jump off the balcony-still with my computer!);
    This I know, because God is for me.
    10 In God I will praise His word (b/c my family is safe),
    In the LORD I will praise His word,
    11 In God I have put my trust;
    I will not be afraid.
    What can man do to me? (besides jacking my stuff)
    12 Vows made to You are binding upon me, O God;
    I will render praises to You,
    13 For You have delivered my soul from death.
    Have You not kept my feet from falling,
    That I may walk before God
    In the light of the living?
    (And in this and through this may Your name be glorified and your enduring love proclaimed to all who hear [and read blogs]!)

    The Word laid on me for you guys. Our prayers, thoughts, and praises are with you!

  9. Rodney, thank you for the above. Edd/Deborah

Leave a comment